A Free Panda

I need to make my parents proud       

They have sacrificed so much for me 

I don’t want to be a doctor,

dance makes me free

 

I can’t betray my parents

But when I dance I’m a bird soaring

I need to quit teaching 

I need to be studying 

 

I can’t keep lying 

It feels like I’m in a cage  

I need to reveal the truth 

I need to gather all my courage

 

“I’m so glad you are here. You fit. You’ll do well. 

I know you’ll get into the best medical school 

And become the best doctor.” 

My mother’s words surrounding me, pulling me in like a whirlpool  

 

I have trouble with germs and…

I don’t want to be a doctor, please forgive me 

I have tried and I know I can’t do it.”

má, Bǎbá, please don’t leave me

This entry was posted in Poetry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *